Connect with us

Boston Bruins

Boston Bruins Cassidy On Iffy Call: ‘A Good Goal All Day Long’

Published

on

Boston Bruins

The Boston Bruins were running pretty hot about a third period goal that was disallowed for goalie interference, but ultimately didn’t hurt them in a 2-1 OT win over the Chicago Blackhawks at the United Center.

It appeared that Charlie Coyle scored on a loose puck where he spun and snapped one in late in the third period, and that would have been the go-ahead goal in what was a game deadlocked at one goal apiece. Instead, the referees ruled goalie interference on the ice as a couple of bodies were flying around Marc-Andre Fleury just before Coyle’s shot found the back of the net.

The Boston Bruins bench challenged the call and subsequent video reviews showed that a diving Riley Stillman bumped into Flower just before the scoring Coyle shot. There was slight contact between Craig Smith and Marc-Andre Fleury as well, but it didn’t appear that impeded the Blackhawks goaltender in any way as the Stillman bump did.

On the contrary, it looked like Smith did everything he could to avoid a goalie interference call that might have killed the play.

Nevertheless, it’s always an uphill battle to get a call overturned when it was initially ruled “no goal” on the ice to start with. The NHL Situation Room upheld the “no goal” call after a brief review and the Boston Bruins were saddled with a two-minute delay of game penalty for their troubles.

Per the NHL release: Video review confirmed the actions of Boston’s Craig Smith impaired goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury’s ability to play his position prior to Charlie Coyle’s goal. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.1, which states in part, “Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal.”

DraftKings

MA, PA, MI, NY, NJ

GET THE APP
DRAFTKINGS SIGNUP BONUS!WELCOME BONUS
$1000 Deposit Bonus Match + $50 Free Bet!
BET NOW

Boston Bruins coach Bruce Cassidy was fired up about the Coyle goal being taken off the board after it was all over, even when the Bruins ultimately found a way to win in overtime with Matt Grzelcyk’s game-winner off a slick Taylor Hall feed.

“We were finally able to get one in overtime to win 3-1,” said Cassidy postgame, dripping with sarcasm. “I didn’t like the call at all. I’ve watched it 10 times and I still don’t see where there is any interference. I see their guy going into their goalie. I think [Craig Smith] might have touched his blocker, and that’s a ‘might.’ It was before the shot and it didn’t affect his ability to play the position in my opinion.

“I thought it was a good goal all day long. Typically I wouldn’t challenge it with five minutes to go, but I just thought it was so obvious that it was a goal that they mistook Smith for [Stillman], who slid into him. Their own player and we didn’t affect his path to the goalie where he turned, pivoted and lost his footing. I just thought it was one they would [overturn]. The National Hockey League is always looking for more offense and I certainly thought it was a good goal. I’ll make a phone call at some to find out exactly what they saw. But at the end of the day, it didn’t hurt us.”

What did everybody else think about a clear instance where everybody (fans, media, players and coaches alike) felt like they saw one thing, and the NHL Situation Room saw something else at a crucial point in a game.

 

Joe Haggerty has covered the Boston Bruins and the NHL for 18 years with NBC Sports Boston, WEEI.com, the Boston Metro and the Woburn Daily Times, and currently serves as lead Bruins reporter and columnist for Boston Hockey Now. Haggs always strives to capture the spirt of the thing any way that he can.

3 Comments
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
3 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
William Mahoney

Has it occurred to anyone that the NHL has put out the word “Call penalties of the Bruins at every opportunity”. Boston needs to talk to the home League Home Office folks about this continuing situation.

Ugly Moe

Is the “situation room” involved at all in these types of calls, because it looks like the refs on the ice reviewed the video themselves?

JustJim

Good thing Marchand wasn’t on the ice or there would have been a 5 min. major, with a suspension hearing! Clowns!

Copyright ©2020 National Hockey Now and Boston Hockey Now.