Connect with us

Boston Bruins

Bruins Forward David Pastrnak Named Czech Player of The Year



David Pastrnak Buries Beauty from Brad Marchand Boston Bruins

Boston Bruins forward David Pastrnak has added more hardware to his trophy case. Already having claimed a share of the ‘Rocket’ Richard Trophy for leading the NHL in goals, Pastrnak was awarded with the Golden Hockey Stick as the Czech Republic’s top player in 2019-20. It’s the fourth consecutive year that the sniper has won the award.

Pastrnak’s fourth consecutive victory marks a significant milestone for the young star. Jaromir Jagr holds the record for most consecutive Golden Stick awards, also winning four in a row. Pastrnak has now officially tied the future Hall of Famer.

Pastrnak received 51 of 52 first-place votes for the award. He scored a league-leading and career-high 48 goals this past season, tied with Alexander Ovechkin. He collected 95 points in 70 games in 2019-20. Those numbers were both improvements off of his previous career-highs, which were set last season.

David Pastrnak was lethal on the powerplay. He scored a league-leading 20 powerplay goals prior to ‘the pause’ due to COVID-19 back in mid-March.

His fourth Golden Hockey Stick now has Pastrnak tied with Vladimir Martinec for the third-most wins in the award’s history. Only Dominik Hasek (five) and Jagr (twelve) have more in the award’s lengthy history.

Alex is a 2016 graduate of Springfield College who is currently a writer with Boston Hockey Now and The Oilers Rig. Outside of writing, you can find Alex in rinks around New England as the Play-by-Play voice of the USPHL’s Boston Junior Bruins. In addition, he does broadcasting work for Northeastern University, Holy Cross And UMass-Lowell. Reach him on Twitter: @Alex_Thomas14

Click to comment
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Copyright ©2020 National Hockey Now and Boston Hockey Now.